Singles Stars Join Top Teams in Western & Southern Open Doubles Draws

Aug 1, 2023
Two women high five on a tennis court

Fourteen Top 20 singles players have entered the Western & Southern Open doubles fields which are highlighted by the best teams of the 2023 WTA and ATP seasons.

Nine of the Top 10 teams in the 2023 WTA Doubles Race have entered the Western & Southern Open while each of the Top 10 ATP teams will take part.

The WTA’s No. 1 doubles team this season is comprised of elite singles talent, as Americans Jessica Pegula (No. 4 in singles) and Coco Gauff (No. 7) will look to reach their fourth WTA 1000 final since March. They are among the eight WTA Top 20 singles players who have entered the doubles draw.

World No. 2 Novak Djokovic, a two-time Western & Southern Open singles winner, leads the six ATP Top 20 singles players who have entered the doubles field. He will team up with countryman Nikola Cacic in his first ATP Masters 1000 doubles event for the first time since Paris in the fall of 2021.

The 2022 Western & Southern Open winning teams – Lyudmyla Kichenok & Jelena Ostapenko and Rajeev Ram & Joe Salisbury – will be back to defend their titles. They are four of the 15 past Western & Southern Open winners in this year’s doubles field.

Five of this season’s Grand Slam title winning teams are also among the entrants, as both Australian Open champion duos (Barbora Krejcikova & Katerina Siniakova and Rinky Hijikata & Jason Kubler) and the French Open winners (Su-wei Hsieh & Xinyu Wang and Ivan Dodig & Austin Krajicek) will be joined by the winning Wimbledon duo Wesley Koolhof & Neal Skupski.

Djokovic is not the only two-time Western & Southern Open singles winner playing doubles this year. Victoria Azarenka will team with Beatriz Haddad Maia in a pairing of singles Top 20 players while Andy Murray and countryman Dan Evans have been awarded the first doubles wild card.

The initial doubles entry lists are as follows:

Both the men’s and women’s doubles events will be 28-draws. Two additional men’s teams will be awarded wild cards while five women’s teams will be added through an on-site sign-in and three teams granted wild cards.

The women’s doubles final will take place Saturday night, Aug. 19 and the men’s doubles final is Sunday, Aug. 20 before both singles finals. The full tournament schedule is available here.

The singles player fields feature the world’s top-ranked 41 men and 39 women, 11 past champions and 18 Grand Slam Major winners. They include all-time men’s leader Djokovic with 23 Grand Slam titles and seven-time women’s Grand Slam winner Venus Williams. Also leading the fields are world No. 1s and 2022 U.S. Open champions Carlos Alcaraz and Iga Swiatek.